Ozzie And Harriet

ozzie lg.jpg

When Red Skelton was drafted in March 1944, Ozzie Nelson was prompted to create his own family situation comedy. The Adventures of Ozzie and Harriet launched on CBS on October 8, 1944, moving to NBC in October 1948, and making a late-season switch back to CBS in April 1949. The final years of the radio series were on ABC (the former NBC Blue Network) from October 14, 1949 to June 18, 1954. In total 402 radio episodes were produced. In an arrangement that amplified the growing pains of American broadcasting, as radio "grew up" into television, the Nelsons' deal with ABC gave the network the option to move their program to television. The struggling network needed proven talent that was not about to defect to the more established and wealthier networks like CBS or NBC.

The Nelsons' sons, David and Ricky, did not join the cast until the radio show's fifth year (initially appearing on the February 20, 1949 episode). The two boys were played by professional actors prior to their joining because both were too young to perform.The role of David was played by Joel Davis from 1944 until 1945 when he was replaced by Tommy Bernard. Henry Blair appeared as Ricky. Other cast members included John Brown as Syd "Thorny" Thornberry, Lurene Tuttle as Harriet's mother, Bea Benaderet as Gloria, Janet Waldo as Emmy Lou, and Francis "Dink" Trout as Roger. Vocalists included Harriet Nelson, The King Sisters, and Ozzie Nelson. The announcers were Jack Bailey and Verne Smith. The music was by Billy May and Ozzie Nelson.

Episode Number Episode Title Aired Datesort descending
March 3rd Dilema Monday, July 9, 1945
Electric Trains Thursday, August 9, 1945
37 Antique Vase Sunday, August 12, 1945
39 David Sells Ozzies Suit Sunday, August 26, 1945
41 David Fights Sunday, September 9, 1945
43 Apartment Building Next Door Sunday, September 9, 1945
The Camel Wednesday, October 17, 1945
96 Ozzie Runs For Office Sunday, December 1, 1946
Bowling Sunday, February 23, 1947
125 New Dress Sunday, September 14, 1947
143 Jury Duty Friday, January 16, 1948
144 The Arguement Friday, January 23, 1948
167 Ozzie Promises to Take the Boys Hiking Sunday, October 17, 1948
169 Haunted House Sunday, October 31, 1948
170 Ozzie Is in a Rut Sunday, November 7, 1948
171 The Boy's Night Out Sunday, November 14, 1948
172 The Third Degree Sunday, November 21, 1948