gunsmoke lg.jpg

Gunsmoke is an American western radio series, which was developed for radio by John Meston and Norman Macdonnell. The series ran for nine seasons and was broadcast by CBS. The first episode of the series originally aired in the United States on April 26, 1952, and the final first-run episode aired on June 11, 1961. During the series, a total of 413 episodes were broadcast. A television version of the series premiered in 1955.

Gunsmoke is set in and around Dodge City, Kansas, in the post-Civil War era and centers around United States Marshall Matt Dillon (William Conrad) as he enforces law and order in the city. The series also focuses on Dillon's friendship with three other citizens of Dodge City: Doctor Charles "Doc" Adams (Howard McNear), the town's physician; Kitty Russell (Georgia Ellis), owner of the Long Branch Saloon; and Chester Wesley Proudfoot (Parley Baer), Dillon's deputy. Other roles were played by a group of supporting actors consisting of John Dehner, Sam Edwards, Harry Bartell, Vic Perrin, Lou Krugman, Lawrence Dobkins, Barney Phillips, Jack Kruschen, Ralph Moody, Ben Wright, James Nusser, Virginia Gregg, Jeanette Nolan, Virginia Christine, Helen Kleeb, Lillian Buyeff, Vivi Janiss, and Jeanne Bates. The entire nine-season run of Gunsmoke was produced by Norman Macdonnell.

Episode Number Episode Title Aired Datesort descending
41 Cavalcade Wednesday, January 31, 1951
1 Billy The Kid Saturday, April 26, 1952
12 The Boughten Bride Saturday, July 12, 1952
89 The Stage Hold Up Saturday, January 2, 1954
153 The Mistake Saturday, March 19, 1955
188 The Preacher Sunday, November 13, 1955
190 Amys Good Deed Sunday, November 27, 1955