The Amazing Interplanetary Adventures of Flash Gordon

flash lg.jpg

Starting April 22, 1935, the strip was adapted into The Amazing Interplanetary Adventures of Flash Gordon, a 26-episode weekly radio serial. The series followed the strip very closely, amounting to a week-by-week adaptation of the Sunday strip for most of its run.

Flash Gordon was played by Gale Gordon, later famous for his television roles in Our Miss Brooks, Dennis the Menace, The Lucy Show and Here's Lucy (the latter two with Lucille Ball). The cast also included Maurice Franklin as Dr. Zarkov and Bruno Wick as Ming the Merciless.

The radio series broke with the strip continuity in the last two episodes, when Flash, Dale and Zarkov returned to Earth. They make a crash landing in Africa, where they meet Jungle Jim, the star of another of Alex Raymond's comic strips.

The series ended on October 26, 1935 with Flash and Dale's marriage. The next week, The Adventures of Jungle Jim picked up in that Saturday timeslot.

Two days later, on October 28, The Further Interplanetary Adventures of Flash Gordon debuted as a daily show, running five days a week. This series strayed further from Raymond's strip, involving Flash, Dale and Zarkov in an adventure in Atlantis. The series aired 74 episodes, ending on February 6, 1936.

Episode Number Episode Title Aired Datesort descending
1 On The Planet Mongo Saturday, April 27, 1935
2 Befriends Lion Men and Stops a Wedding Saturday, May 4, 1935
3 Imprisoned By Hawkmen Saturday, May 11, 1935
4 Death Battle Won by Flash Saturday, May 18, 1935
6 Rules Over Cave World Saturday, May 25, 1935
6 Blue Magic Men Capture Flash Saturday, June 1, 1935
7 Dr Zarkoff To The Rescue Saturday, June 8, 1935
8 Battle Begins Saturday, June 15, 1935
9 Wounded in the Heat of Battle Saturday, June 22, 1935
10 Cool Way to Win Saturday, June 29, 1935
11 Zarkov has to Rescue Dale Saturday, July 6, 1935
12 The Antidote Saturday, July 13, 1935
13 Has Flash made A Mistake Saturday, July 27, 1935
14 General Tal Attacks Flash Saturday, August 3, 1935
15 Dale is Rescued by the Boys Saturday, August 10, 1935
16 Voice From The Shadows Saturday, August 17, 1935
17 Flash Returns Saturday, August 24, 1935
18 After Him Soldiers Saturday, August 31, 1935
19 Flash Captures Azura Saturday, September 7, 1935
20 Men of the Dwarf Tunnels Saturday, September 14, 1935
21 Azura tries to Negotiate Saturday, September 21, 1935
22 Flash Defends Azura Saturday, September 28, 1935
23 Jealousy Saturday, October 5, 1935
24 Its Finally Over Saturday, October 12, 1935
25 Landing in Malaysia Saturday, October 19, 1935
26 Good Bye Jungle Jim Hello USA Saturday, October 26, 1935

Category