The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes

holmes lg.jpg

The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes was an old-time radio show which aired in the USA from October 2, 1939 to July 7, 1947.

Originally, the show starred Basil Rathbone as Sherlock Holmes and Nigel Bruce as Dr. John H. Watson. Together, they starred in 220 episodes which aired weekly on Mondays from 8:30 to 9:00pm. Bromo Quinine sponsored some of the earlier programs on the NBC Blue Network and for a period Parker Pen was the sponsor. The show first aired on the Blue Network but later moved to the Mutual Broadcasting System. It was originally broadcast from Hollywood. Recordings of only 50 episodes were originally known to be extant, but today well over 150 have been found, evidence of this is needed as only 51 are in circulation.

Basil Rathbone's last episode as the famous Detective was "The Singular Affair of the Baconian Cipher." He was eager to separate himself from the cast type of Sherlock Holmes, and even though the show's sponsor Petri Wine offered him generous pay to continue, he decided to move on. Once he did, the sponsor did as well, and Tom Conway took the starring role, though Nigel Bruce got top billing and was always announced first. The new sponsor was Kreml Hair Tonic for Men, and the new series only lasted 39 episodes. The show was later sponsored by Clipper Craft menswear and broadcast from New York City.

With Rathbone and Bruce, the show exhibited an interesting introduction. The sponsor's spokesman, usually Harry Bartell, would show up weekly at Dr. Watson's house (then retired and living in California), and share a story about Holmes and his adventures over a glass of Petri wine. This offered them the chance to sometimes bring in other characters to contribute to the story, and also gave Watson a chance to summarize or add additional tidbits at the end. Another interesting thing about this radio show's introductions was Dr. Watson's anecdotes and comments about his dogs usually referred to as the "Puppies".

Episode Number Episode Title Aired Datesort descending
81 The Sign of the Four Part 1 Wednesday, November 9, 1932
82 The Sign of the Four Part 2 Wednesday, November 16, 1932
83 The Sign of the Four Part 3 Wednesday, November 23, 1932
143 The Devil's Foot Saturday, May 30, 1936
39 Hound Of The Baskervilles - Part 1 Sunday, January 12, 1941
40 Hound Of The Baskervilles - Part 2 Sunday, January 19, 1941
41 Hound Of The Baskervilles - Part 3 Sunday, January 26, 1941
70 The Copper Beeches Friday, May 7, 1943
88 Retired Colourman Friday, September 3, 1943
125 The Adventure of the Missing Bloodstains Monday, May 15, 1944
165 Lady Frances Carfax Monday, February 26, 1945
169 The Book of Tobit Monday, March 26, 1945
170 The Amateur Mendicant Society Monday, April 2, 1945
171 The Viennese Strangler Monday, April 9, 1945
211 Mystery of the Headless Monk Sunday, April 15, 1945
173 The Notorious Canary Trainer Monday, April 23, 1945
184 The Vanishing Elephant Monday, October 8, 1945
185 The Manor House Case Monday, October 15, 1945
186 The Great Gandolf Monday, October 22, 1945
189 The Speckled Band Monday, November 12, 1945
190 Double Zero Monday, November 19, 1945
195 Night Before Christmas Monday, December 24, 1945
200 Todd Sweeney Demon Barber Monday, January 28, 1946
201 The Indiscretion of Mr Edwards aka Murder Under The Big Top Monday, February 4, 1946
203 Camberwell Poisoning Monday, February 18, 1946
204 Murder at the Opera Monday, February 25, 1946
205 The Submarine Caves Monday, March 4, 1946
5 The Adventure Of The Noble Batchelor Tuesday, August 18, 1959