Journey to the Center of the Earth

center lg.jpgA Journey to the Center of the Earth, also translated as A Journey to the Interior of the Earth, is a classic 1864 science fiction novel by Jules Verne (published in the original French as Voyage au centre de la Terre). The story involves a professor who leads his nephew and hired guide down a volcano in Iceland to the "center of the Earth". They encounter many adventures, including prehistoric animals and natural hazards, eventually coming to the surface again in southern Italy. From a scientific point of view, this story has not aged quite as well as other Verne stories, since most of his ideas about what the interior of the Earth contains have since been proven wrong. It is important to note however that much of the works of Verne were due to his personal visualization, and not an attempt to create a hypothesis; and at the time of its writing there was a dearth of knowledge concerning the Earth's core. However, a redeeming point to the story is Verne's own belief, told within the novel from the viewpoint of a character, that the inside of the Earth does indeed differ from that which the characters encounter.

Episode Number Episode Title Aired Datesort descending
1 The Great Discovery Wednesday, June 12, 1963
2 The Shadow of Surprise Wednesday, June 19, 1963
3 Lost Wednesday, June 26, 1963
4 The Central Sea Tuesday, July 2, 1963
5 Battle of the Monsters Tuesday, July 9, 1963
6 The Hurricane Tuesday, July 16, 1963
7 The Mysterious Dagger Tuesday, July 23, 1963
8 The Journey Is Ended Tuesday, July 30, 1963