Authors' Playhouse

author lg.jpgAuthor's Playhouse was an anthology radio drama series, created by Wynn Wright, that aired on the NBC Blue Network from March 5, 1941 until October 1941. It then moved to the NBC Red Network where it was heard until June 4, 1945. Philip Morris was the sponsor in 1942-43.[1]
Premiering with "Elementals" by Stephen Vincent Benét, the series featured adaptations of stories by famous authors, such as “Mr. Mergenthwirker’s Lobbies” by Nelson Bond, "The Snow Goose" by Paul Gallico, "The Monkey's Paw" by W.W. Jacobs, "The Piano" by William Saroyan and "The Secret Life of Walter Mitty" by James Thurber.

Cast members included Curley Bradley, John Hodiak, Marvin Miller, Nelson Olmsted, Fern Persons, Olan Soule and Les Tremayne. Orchestra conductors for the program were Joseph Gallicchio, Rex Maupin and Roy Shield. Directors included Norman Felton, Homer Heck and Fred Weihe

Episode Number Episode Title Aired Datesort descending
171 Command Performance Friday, June 16, 1944
180 Two of a Kind Friday, July 28, 1944
181 A Miracle in the Rain Saturday, July 29, 1944
186 Woman's Work Friday, August 18, 1944
191 Southern Exposure Friday, September 15, 1944
192 Cry for the Hunted Friday, September 22, 1944